Everything to Know about Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

0 144

The organization’s top-level IT and IS auditors have the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification. They work on identifying the potential security threats. It helps you validate your knowledge, gain globally recognized professional standing, demonstrate continuous learning, and accelerate your career.


Those who hold this certification are highly skilled experts who demonstrate expertise in IT/IS auditing and help to develop industry standards.


Auditors with this certification earn an average compensation of roughly 110K per year and can use their knowledge. It is essential to understand that this accreditation isn’t for just any IT or IS auditor, and conditions and preparations accompany it. With a high degree of achievement, we will look at the CISA difference, who should take the exam, and prepare for CISA Training to get the certification in this post.

How can a CISA Employee Help an Organization?

Any organization’s ultimate purpose is to succeed, and part of that accomplishment includes establishing a “positive image” through gold-standard procedures. Hiring personnel that increases operational standards through validation inside their field leads to more excellent means for all teams and growth across the entire organization. According to the guideline applied to every expert, certifications always provide positive value to the person and the organization.


When it comes to auditors, a CISA certification verifies an individual’s ability in system auditing, assurance, control security, cybersecurity, and governance, opening up many opportunities for advancement. According to a Business First Family article, “having a CISA trained individual on board increases your chances of attracting new clients.” ISACA is a worldwide known organization, and many potential customers seek out their CISA certification. Some clients may only do business with companies that have CISA certified employees.” The benefits of hiring a qualified employee provide a one-of-a-kind return on investment that most companies strive for.


Who Should Consider Taking CISA?

There are two steps to earning the prestigious CISA designation after the CISA Training, as it is a “world-renowned” accreditation.


The first are the prerequisites, which are as follows: “All candidates must have experience of five years in professional information systems auditing, control, or security job experience within the last ten years,” according to a CIO article. If you have the following, you may be eligible for a waiver for up to three years of experience:

  • One year of IS auditing experience or one year of non-IS auditing experience is required.
  • Can substitute One to two years of experience for the equivalent of a two- or four-year degree.
  • One year of experience can be substituted for a bachelor’s or master’s degree from a university that teaches the ISACA-sponsored curriculum.
  • A master’s degree in information systems or information technology from an approved university equals one year of experience.


ISACA also makes an exception for those who have taught full-time at a university in a related discipline for two years, which can be substituted for one year of experience.


The examination comes second after the prerequisites. It is sometimes taken before the experience criteria are satisfied. But the candidate will not be certified until all of the experience requirements have been met.


As a result, persons who want to get the CISA Training and certification must agree to the time limits and the Code Of Professional Ethics and have a strong desire to advance in the auditing field. Maintaining and earning this certification is a commitment in and of itself, with a requirement to complete 120 hours of CPE every three years, including at least 20 hours every year.


About the Examination:

This exam usually is evaluated on a scale of 200 to 800 points and is divided into five categories with 150 multiple-choice questions covering the leading job practices of IT and IS audit, control, and security. To pass, a candidate should achieve a score of 450 or above in less than four hours.



  1. The Process Of Auditing Information Systems – 21%

This domain collection includes information on IT audit fundamentals and how to plan for audits, administer audits, present audit results, and activate a plan.

  1. 16 percent – Information Technology Governance and Management

Within this category, the questions address “IT strategies, governance, organizational structures, resource management, portfolio management, risk management, control monitoring, reporting of KPIs, and the organization’s business continuity plan,” according to the CIO article.

  1. Acquisition, development, and implementation of information systems account for 18% of the total.

This domain is added to guarantee that certified candidates know how to administer IT systems that satisfy organizational goals. It encompasses expanded IT investments, management processing, IT supplier usage, evaluation process, and post-implementation assessment.

  1. Information Systems Operations, Maintenance, and Service Management account for 20% of the total.

An understanding of comprehensive IT operations and maintenance is examined in this domain. It looks at frameworks, best practices, and data quality.

  1. 25 percent – Information Asset Protection

Finally, everything that keeps a system secure is examined in this realm. This domain is used to “assure the organization that its information will preserve its integrity, confidentiality, and accessibility,” according to an article from Cyber Security Education.


Post Examination:

It is advisable to prepare for the official CISA exam with a training series and pre-tests to guarantee that the IS and IT audit specialist is fully versed in all topics and skills. ISACA offers instructor-led courses in a variety of formats, including online, visual, and on-demand. These packages include printable or downloadable instructions as well as a one-year subscription to a Q&A database. Furthermore, they provide 4-day in-person training with choices for corporations who want to teach employee groups.


Various third-party prep companies can also assist you in preparing. It will ensure a candidate’s preparation for the test dates in June, September, or December.



It’s now time to apply for certification after passing the exam and meeting the experience requirements. It’s a three-step process made even easier by the ISACA website.


  • A one-time, non-refundable fee of $50 is required to use the application.
  • Within the five years of passing the exam with proof, you must apply for certification.
  • The processing time will then be three to four weeks.


When an IT or IS auditor receives certification, they are immediately promoted in their field. Their résumé becomes more appealing to employers and colleagues, demonstrating a commitment to keeping up with systems auditing abilities. The CISA Training and certification is exclusively for the industry’s best and most elite auditors.

Read Also: Why QuickBooks Not Responding

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.